Warning: Use of undefined constant view - assumed 'view' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /var/www/www/templates/intibs2020/index.php on line 92

The Institute

Division of Low Temperature and Superconductivity (DLTS) is the successor of the Department of Low Temperatures, from which the Institute of Low Temperature and Structural Research originated, when it was brought into existence on 1 October 1966. Since the beginning,  fundamental interests of the Division have been superconductivity, thermal properties of solids and the development and use of cryogenic techniques. The current list of subjects does not differ much from that, focusing on high-temperature superconductivity research, transport of heat in solids and cryocrystals. The place of cryotechnology has been taken over by cryothermometry, which resulted in founding the Laboratory of Temperature Standard at DLTS, which is a depositary of the national temperature standard in the Institute.

The Division is studying (both experimentally and theoretically) phenomena in highly correlated electron systems, namely, those in which the localized electrons  interact strongly with the electrons from the conduction band. These are compounds, in which at least one component is an element having partially populated the f electron shell, namely lanthanides or actinides. In the Department of Magnetic Research, mostly compounds based on cerium, iterbium and uranium are studied. Compounds based on other lantanides and actinides are also examined, however, they represent a minority in a number of research projects carried out by the Department.

Division of Theory of Condensed Matter deals with theory of strongly correlated systems (including the mechanisms responsible for high temperature superconductivity), as well as with the determination of the electronic structure of solids. Another interest is superfluidity in bosonic systems of ultracold atomic gases in optical lattices and investigation of magnetic phase transitions using fluctuational theory of critical phenomena.

The Division deals with the syntheses and diffraction and spectroscopic structural studies of single crystal and powder materials. The group is also involved in supporting research activities of other divisions of the Institute in measuring diffraction diagrams on X-ray powder diffractometer using reflection and transmission modes, also vs. temperature.

The scientific activity of the Division of Nanomaterials Chemistry and Catalysis is devoted to the study of the relationship between the structure and chemical reactivity of highly dispersed solids. In this activity, we use various methods of production, physicochemical characterization and testing the chemical activity of highly dispersed materials (nanomaterials). The results of our research allow us to better understand how the structure of nanoparticles (shape, size and surface condition) affects their interaction with gases and the carrier surface. The obtained basic knowledge is essential in the process of developing new or improving the existing heterogeneous catalysts.

The Division is engaged in the production of luminescent materials with potential applications in optoelectronics, photonics, telecommunications and studies of their dielectric and optical properties.

The Division of Biomedical Physico-Chemistry is the youngest Department at INTiBS - the department was established in 2021 in response to the growing interest in the use of modern nanomaterials in biomedical applications. The employees of the Department develop new luminescent markers for (bio)imaging and (bio)detection of physical quantities (temperature, pressure), chemical and biochemical quantities, modern nanomaterials for filling bone defects, as well as antibacterial materials. For this purpose, various methods of nanomaterial synthesis and modern methods of studying structural and spectroscopic properties are used.

im. Włodzimierza Trzebiatowskiego
Institute address:
ul. Okólna 2, 50-422 Wrocław
Electronic address::
71 343 5021, 71 395 4xxx
Fax: 71 344 1029
Mon - Fri 7:30-15:30